Tiny House people: The future belongs to us!

Tiny Houses and campers/RVs are great because they can be awesome living situations for young people with a young-person’s budget and mobile lifestyle. Today I learned about a couple of other people my age (college kids and other early-mid twenties crowd) who are building their own tiny houses. This is fantastic! When I was a kid there was no way I thought I could ever afford my own house when I was 20. This really changes the way we think about independence, autonomy, mobility and opportunity. So I wanted to point out a couple of other people who are working on and documenting their own Tiny House adventures.

I would love to create some sort of network for connecting young people that are building their own (first-time) homes on a college-kids’ budget. We can really get creative with our homes.  Salvaged materials, free-cycling, DIY! It’s very exciting to see other people my age caring about the things I care about.

Also, I’d love to connect with other young people looking to live in a camper or RV (or other converted mobile situation) for the first time. I’m sure we could all learn a ton from each other. If you are living in a camper or on the road, or in the process of becoming a full-timer, I want to hear from you! Tell me about it in the comments and leave your website if you have one!

Here’s some other people building and documenting their Tiny House progress:

http://littleyellowdoor.wordpress.com/

http://kiestinyhouse.wordpress.com/

Kie's tiny house

 

AND I’d like to point you in the direction of 16 year old Celina Dill, a young lady beginning to build her own tiny house. Her blog is still just starting up, and I think she’s at the stage of gathering salvaged materials. Definitely one to watch though. She’s a beautiful writer and really inspiring. I wish I had started my tiny house 4 years ago!! Also, she has  salvaged the same 1950’s Dixie stove one of my other camper’s has. Her frugality and re-use is really great. Check her and her little house out at: http://mytinyabode.blogspot.com/

 

Here’s some other sites I stumbled on today! REALLY glad I did!

http://tinyhouseontario.wordpress.com/

http://minimotives.com/

http://www.120squarefeet.blogspot.com/

Let me know in the comments if you’d like to be in my “RESOURCES” list, if you’re building a Tiny House, or if you’re converting an RV or camper into a full-time living machine!

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Tiny House people: The future belongs to us!

  1. ashleigh says:

    Hey Mariah, have you talked to Ian lately? http://littletimberhouse.blogspot.com/

    Good luck with the camper – your enthusiasm is contagious. 🙂

  2. Gah I haven’t talked to Ian since he moved his tiny house out of the Go-Go! I have to track him down and get him to write a little post for me here. We were supposed to make a Tiny House episode of the 508 show with Mike Benedetti a while back and still haven’t, but I think we will soon. Thanks for checking out my site girl! And thanks for Ian’s site, I have to check it out!
    XO
    Mariah

  3. Laura says:

    Thank you for mentioning tinyhouseontario.wordpress.com in your post. I am glad to hear that you found the site.

  4. Laura LaVoie says:

    Thanks for the mention! I love seeing all the great tiny house stuff out there.

  5. Just came across your blog and it’s great! I just started my tiny house build and blog too.

Leave a Reply

